SquareTrade Reviews

Show reviews that mention
square trade warranty claim trade phone service customer money customer service email
Filter review
Most helpful review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Not honoring the warranty

SquareTrade - Not honoring the warranty
SquareTrade - Not honoring the warranty
SquareTrade - Not honoring the warranty
Original review updated by user Nov 22, 2020
I bought an Amazon Fire Tablet in July 2019. As part of an offer, an Amazon representative offered me 2 years extended warranty from Square trade free of cost. He told me to buy it along with the tablet from Amazon and drop an email Amazon representative for Square trade for a refund. I did the same and Square trade refunded me the money. I confirmed over the email that the warranty is not canceled and is only refunded. Attached is the screenshot for the same. Today in November 2020, when my Square trade warranty is valid till July 2021, the SQ representative is not honoring its warranty claiming it was canceled. I reached out 3 times over the phone about still not able to get my coverage. 1. November 16, 2020 - SQ representative said my warranty is canceled and agreed they wrongly informed me that it's still active. Also, he said it's a mistake on their side to show it as active when I log in to my square trade account. The screenshot is attached for that too. As compensation for their mistake, he offered me $50 credit towards a new Amazon fire tablet which will now cost me $200. I denied that offer as again I will end up spending $150 on it. 2. Over the chat and email SQ representative agrees that my warranty is valid but to claim I have called as they can't process the claim. Attached is the screenshot for that too. 3. November 18,2020 - SQ representative named "Alex" , agreed after 1 hour 10 minutes discussion that my warranty is valid and offered me a replacement tablet. He asked me to order a new Fire HD tablet from Amazon.com and said he will reach out to me next day over email and phone to return the amount paid for the new order. He promised that he will handle my case as he understood it properly. 4. November 22, 2020 - I never received the callback or email, Reached out again over the phone this time "Bruce" took my call. He disagreed listening to me, and said my warranty is canceled and it's refunded. He didn't even bother to check notes from Alex. I will reach out to "State Attorneys" if this issue is not resolved in the next 1 week time as I have enough proofs that I have active coverage.

User's recommendation: Never trust Square trade for Amazon Devices. Anyhow Amazon devices are not worth buying.

View full review
1 comment
#2026679

Square trade is a rip off

ID
#2298230 Review #2298230 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Thats the only option i got from amazon
Cons
  • Will always ask you contact them over the phone
  • Fact that they do not honor their warranty
  • Fraud
Loss
$150
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Not as Advertised

I purchased a policy from Square Trade for some electronics. My general experience has been difficult, culminating with take it or leave it tactics that would have me accept a settlement of less than what I paid for my electronics, or nothing at all. All of this despite the fact that Square Trade could send me an exact replacement of my electronics (as the warranty states) which is readily available online from the original manafacturer or 3rd party dealers. I think these warranties are are a sham.D

User's recommendation: Do not buy a warranty.

View full review
ID
#2734511 Review #2734511 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Never replaced or repaired as agreed
  • Runaround and not honor warranty
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
Normally I am quite happy &;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; satisfied every time Ive ever used square trade. So much that I use to brag about them...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2732459 Review #2732459 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Edwards, Colorado

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Peace of mind ha anything but

This company is a joke I have done 1000s plus a yr with walmart and always buy the warentees yet try to use them with this company. They don't keep track od a thing for you even when bought on line and you have to jump through hoops to be told its not covered. This is the absolute worst companyevershameon you walmart!! I buy warentees for a peace of mind so I can not worry if it breaks or rips or water and tear. Not no more. I am going else where now. Along with tons of followers and friends

User's recommendation: Don't buy.

View full review
ID
#2719288 Review #2719288 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Squaretrade Protection Plan
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Never received warranty that was paid for

I bought an item on ebay and decided to get the SquareTrade warranty. I never received it although they charged me. I've tried multiple times to contact them and they have never responded. I'll never do business with them again.

User's recommendation: Never purchase one of these warranties. All they want is your money and they don't respond to your requests.

View full review
ID
#2694797 Review #2694797 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Squaretrade Warranty
Cons
  • Are unresponsive and never received my warranty
Loss
$16
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

They said they didn't get the picture I sent in email

SquareTrade - They said they didn't get the picture I sent in email
Its about the invoice for a recliner chair I bought from Wayfair I sent it in the email I had screenshot it their saying they didnt get it so I need to speak with someone
View full review
ID
#2677702 Review #2677702 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer

Wouldnt cover what they said so why say its covered

DONT DO ITDont do it!I bought a gazebo canopy with a 5 year protection plan the thing dry rotted, even though we brought it in for the winter...it ripped in many places and almost all the corners where it fits the frame Square trade wanted photos only 2, mind you so one had to be the entire product which was so big you couldnt see they refused to honor the plan They suck dont do it

User's recommendation: dont do it!!! they wont replace what you have torn or broken they try to get you to take it somewhere to get fixed.

View full review
ID
#2667561 Review #2667561 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
relace my gazebo cover from walmart.com

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
purchased television and square trade 5 year protection plan, back in November 2016 My tv started to black out half the screen this year 2021, I called square trade (allstate protection) on June 7th 2021 and they were very good assisting me, trying to reset my tv to...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2040088

square trade called me and sent a check for the full amount

ID
#2640528 Review #2640528 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Product is it was useable
  • Initial ploy sounded good
Cons
  • Do all they can to avoid paying valid claims
  • Square trade company are crooks and liars do not pay or replace
Loss
$425
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

File a claim

Paid money for a protection plan that doesnt cover accidental damages and I dont care to do business again
View full review
ID
#2636869 Review #2636869 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Junior Reviewer

Square trade double dipped me on an eBay item.

I was buying a solar inverter on Ebay. I decided to add square trade insurance to the item. but when I checked out square trade charged me twice and one of the policies doesn't even cover the value of the inverter. i canceled it immediately but when I checked a week later the charge is still there and they say i should have cancelled in the 1st hour.

User's recommendation: avoid doing business with this company. If you cant get hold of them for overcharging you, imagine trying to collect any warranty claims.

View full review
ID
#2631537 Review #2631537 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Horrible service

Ive have an ongoing claim 0424******** that has been on going for a few months they still have not resolved my issue and been without my tv and the worst part I PAID FOR THIS INSURANCE. Ive been an Allstate customer for 29 years home and auto and am disgusted with the horrible service Im receiving from square trade . Ive talked to so many people that are clueless and get a different answer my last call was to a Sam Smith who was supposed to call me back to follow up . Guess what never happened! Not surprised! DO NOT BUT THIS INSURANCE!!! Whats sad is Im senior cit

User's recommendation: Don’t Buy rip off.

View full review
ID
#2630274 Review #2630274 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Fact that they do not honor their warranty
  • Not resolved
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

To cancel the rest of my warrantieswarranty

I feel as though if I purchase an item or two and something goes wrong, then my warranty should cover it. Wrong answer both times they turned me down. So, I cancelled all of my warranties.
View full review
ID
#2602102 Review #2602102 is a subjective opinion of poster.

No service at all

I tried to file a claim with Squaretrade and got nowhere with it. I bought a Motorola phone, bought the plan and it's not even covered.

User's recommendation: Stay away from this company.

View full review
ID
#2581830 Review #2581830 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Sparks, Nevada
SquareTrade - Does not stand behind polices.
On April 15, 2021 I purchased a lazy boy maverick 38 wide leather recliner from Wayfair order number 356068****. On our approximately May 20, someone sit down in my chair and scratched the side of it, during my purchase from Wayfare I purchased a insurance policy, five...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2570015 Review #2570015 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Swansea, South Carolina
New Reviewer

Broken glass on lapt

Broken glass on labtop how do I use my warranty broken glass on my laptop how do I use my warranty that I paid for.
View full review
ID
#2559153 Review #2559153 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
My item fix
New Reviewer

Submit proof of purchase

SquareTrade - Submit proof of purchase
Need to speak to someone his name is Austin he told me to call him if I had any problems now I need to speak to him or someone that could help me So I need someone to call me at 718-844-**** so I can physically put my account in good standings

User's recommendation: Very good service.

View full review
ID
#2550492 Review #2550492 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New York, New York
Preferred solution
Speak to someone

Brands Related to SquareTrade

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article